Take Action

Here (below) is a sample letter that you can use to send a message to our local elected officials. Use this as a guide, or write your own. Below the letter are links to all our local and all our Washington elected officials. You can click directly on any or all of the links to send your letter of support for a Modern Streetcar system in the South Bend/Mishawaka region:

Dear _____________,

Please consider the enormous economic impact that other cities across the nation have earned by building a modern streetcar system that encourages new businesses, new people and significant infill in their urban cores. Here in northern Indiana, we have the same opportunity to make a remarkable difference in just a few short years. 

Let’s bring people back to our city neighborhoods, create more local businesses and encourage private developers to invest in underutilized buildings along the streetcar route. Let’s attract new people and jobs. Let’s grow this area for the first time in 50 years.

Modern streetcar systems are no longer speculative. Everywhere they’ve been installed, we see major new private investment, population growth and jobs.

Let’s do it here.  Let’s change the derogatory term ‘rustbelt,’ into ‘Promise Belt.’ Let’s do what other successful cities and towns have already done. Let’s build a modern streetcar system that ties Notre Dame, Mishawaka and South Bend together for the first time in over a hundred years.

Please support the growing movement that will change the trajectory of this region in northern Indiana for generations to come.

Thank you,

 

Name and Signature

City of South Bend

OFFICE OF THE MAYOR

Mayor, James Mueller

mayormueller@southbendin.gov

 

CITY COUNCIL

ccouncil@southbendin.gov

 

Canneth Lee

clee@southbendin.gov

 

Henry Davis Jr.

hdavis@southbendin.gov

 

Sharon McBride

smcbride@southbend.gov

 

Troy Warner

twarner@southbendin.gov

 

Sheila Neizgodski

Niezgodski@southbendin.gov

 

Karen White

kwhite@southbendin.gov

 

Lori Hamann

Hamann@southbendin.gov

City of Mishawaka

OFFICE OF THE MAYOR

Mayor, Dave Wood

mayor@mishawaka.in.gov

CITY COUNCIL

Woody Emmons

demmons@mishawaka.in.gov

 

Mike Bellovich

mbellovich@mishawaka.in.gov

 

Tony Hazen

anthony.hazen@mishawaka.in.gov

 

Kate Voelker

kvoelker@mishawaka.in.gov

 

Mike Compton

mcompton@mishawaka.in.gov

 

Ron Banicki

rbanicki@mishawaka.in.gov

 

Greg Hixenbaugh

gahixenbaugh@mishawaka.in.gov

 

Matt Mammolenti

mmammolenti@mishawaka.in.gov

 

Maggie DeMaegd

maggie.demaegd@mishawaka.in.gov

Indiana 2nd District House of Representatives

Congresswoman Jackie Walorski

https://walorski.house.gov/contact/email/

Indiana Senators